Tim Atkin | Master of Wine

Articles

Browse articles

 

31st Oct 2011

Putting the boot into heavy reds

by Tim Atkin

One of the hardest things in life is to admit that you’ve made a mistake. Whatever we choose to call it – a blunder, a cock up or an error of judgment – it’s much easier to pretend that we are infallible. The bigger the ego, the... Read more

 

30th Oct 2011

My pick of Sainsbury's 25% off wine deal

by Tim Atkin

Sainsbury's is offering a 25% discount on six bottles of wine until midnight on 1st November, both online and in store. This includes fine wines,... Read more

 

21st Oct 2011

The wine list at Zum Schwarzen Kameel

by Tim Atkin

Zum Schwarzen Kameel is a Viennese institution, located in the heart of the historic first district since the early 17th... Read more

 

17th Oct 2011

Reviewing Platter

by Tim Atkin

It was flattering that the team from South Africa’s respected Platter Guide chose to announce their latest 5 Star awards at the Cape Wine Europe tasting in London recently. The presence of a number of the UK’s top journalists at the tables... Read more

 

14th Oct 2011

Who needs generic wine tastings?

by Tim Atkin

Hands up who watched, let alone attended, any of the party conferences this autumn? Yup, I thought so. You have to be a serious political wonk (or a paid lobbyist or journalist) to take more than a passing interest in these boring, outmoded,... Read more

 

10th Oct 2011

Wine dynasties and how to survive them

by Tim Atkin

The comedian John Cleese once published a conversational if surprisingly serious book called "Families and how to survive them". You don't have to be Sigmund Freud, or a member of the Monty Python team, to recognise that... Read more

 

3rd Oct 2011

Au revoir, Monsieur Dubosc

by Tim Atkin

It’s hard to imagine the Cave de Plaimont, one of the most forward thinking co-operatives in France, without André Dubosc. He’s been associated with the Gascon operation since 1972, first as winemaker and then as... Read more

 

30th Sep 2011

Cherishing the unpredictability of wine

by Tim Atkin

The jazz singer Nina Simone was a notoriously moody performer. Catch her on a good night and she was sublime; hear her play on a bad one and she was terrible: grumpy, sullen and uninterested. Fans of Van Morrison and Elvis Costello will recognize... Read more

 

27th Sep 2011

Wine Families and How to Survive Them

by Tim Atkin

The comedian John Cleese once published a conversational if surprisingly serious book called “Families and how to survive them”. You don’t have to be Sigmund Freud, or a member of the Monty Python team, to recognise that relationships... Read more

 

19th Sep 2011

Bordeaux 2011: first impressions

by Tim Atkin

It feels as if the 2010 Bordeaux campaign has only just ended, but attention spans are shorter than ankle socks in the Gironde. As the world’s largest fine wine region grapples with a much more difficult harvest, the focus has already... Read more